My life as a Mum to an angel

Japan and me

It may seem a little odd but today I really felt a strange familiarity with something the recent earthquake and tsunami left with some survivors with.

Whilst at work, I was watching some day time show on the TV in the staff lounge. I usually don’t concern myself with such shows but this one is usually chattering away in the background at work. The reason it especially caught my attention today was an interview with Petra Nemkova.

Now I have never heard of Petra Nemkova before today (Sorry Petra) and apparently she is a model and TV show host. This is not what caught my attention. What did was that she survived the tsunami in Thailand in December 2004 by climbing a tree. She described how while she was clinging to that tree she watched her then-fiancé, photographer Simon Atlee, get washed away by the water, along with many other people and her feeling of complete inability to do anything about it.

During the 2004 Indian Ocean earthquake, Němcová was at the Khao Lak resort in Thailand with her main photographer and boyfriend, Simon Atlee, when the tsunami struck where they were staying. Initially, Atlee was presumed missing, but his body was found and identified on 3 March 2005, on the shores of Sumatra (near the epicenter of the earthquake that caused the tsunami).

Atlee had drowned, and Němcová suffered a broken pelvis and serious internal injuries, but she managed to hold onto the top of a palm tree, reportedly for eight hours, until she was rescued by Thai civilians and airlifted to an inland hospital nearby. Němcová spent three weeks in a Thai hospital, and then flew home to the Czech Republic, where she spent an additional three weeks in the hospital.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So now the question remains, why would I feel a sense of familiarity with her and the Japanese people? Well I am sure that there were many people in Japan recently who had a very similar experience to Miss Nemkova. She had a great deal of guilt about not being able to help those around her whose fate was inevitably death from the events around her. I can totally relate to her feeling of helplessness. I had exactly the same feelings when my son was in hospital slowly dying from meningitis. I had an overwhelming feeling of not being able to do anything to help him or make him feel any better. Hell, neither the doctor or I knew what was wrong until a couple of hours before he lost his fight against it. So I can so completely relate to that feeling and it gave me a real pause for thought. I suppose we can all have similar feelings in many different situations, despite the vast array of emotions humans have.

I really wanted to put the video on here of her interview but couldn’t figure it out…practice practice practice!!

Leave a Reply

